ETC History 1990-91

A third Amiga is added to the system, along with the Toaster, to further expand the digital imaging potential of the systems.

Artists in residence include Mara Alper, Irit Batsry, Alan Berliner, Laurie Beth Clark, Peter D’Agostino, Tami Gold, Brian Goldfarb, Shalom Gorewitz, Alex Hahn, Philip Mallory Jones, Richard Kostelanetz, Barbara Rosenthal and Ann Wooster.

Tapes were exhibited at Exchange of Information, Museum of Modern Art; Time Based Review, Visual Studies Workshop; Third Emerging Expressions Biennial, Bronx Museum; Rome Video Festival; MIX Festival; International Video Days, Turkey; Bonn Videonale; Osnabruck Video Festival; and the Stockholm Video Festival. They were included on Growing Up, The Learning Channel; Independent Focus, WNET; Maybe but Not Necessarily Music, Rochester; and Deep Dish TV.

Artists received awards from the Checkerboard Foundation; the NEA; the Grand Prix at the Locarno Video Festival; First Prize for Short Experimental Work at the Athens International Video Festival; and the Jerome Foundation. The Center sponsored projects by Alex Hahn (The Kirchner Itinerary) and Shalom Gorewitz (Roots and Branches).

Presentation Funds provides assistance to the Brooklyn Museum (AFI Video Festival), Asian Cinevision (Videoscape: An Asian American Showcase), the Adirondack Cultural Foundation (The Logging Project), Cornell Cinema Presentations by Michael Smith and Carol Ann Klonarides), Dance Theater Workshop Silent Echoes), DCTV (Video History III and the Video Witness Festival), Harvestworks (Presentations by Alvin Lucier, Terese Svoboda, Helen Thorington and Paul DeMarinis), Media Alliance (11th Annual Media Conference), Media Network (keynote address by Marlon Riggs for Immediate Impact conference), and the MIX Festival.

Finishing Funds 1991 recipients include Bill and Mary Buchen, Jean de Boysson, Bradley Eros and Jeanne Liotta, Cara Mertes and Ellen Spiro, selected by panelists Shu Lea Cheang, Robert Doyle and Philip Mallory Jones.